Savor Garden Memories with DIY Leaf Art

“I have never had so many good ideas day after day as when I worked in the garden.” – John Erskine

This past year I really got into gardening. The interest was always there, whether it be in the blooming flowers or the constant need to improve the aesthetics of my surroundings; however, this year I actually acquired a shovel, rake and massive amounts of Miracle-Gro.

As Fall approached and the foliage began to fall, I decided to collect some of the remaining leaves from my garden. The idea of using leaves from my garden seemed somewhat sentimental, and not to mention, my creative side yearned for a release.

With the help of Pinterest, I decided to create leaf art. Pressing the leaves between wax paper, I slowly ironed each individual leaf. Be sure to set the iron on a low-medium temperature and press lightly to dry out the leaf before framing. To complete the leaf preserving I sprayed the front and back sides with a lacquer spray to promote durability.

Image

ImageImage

Rubber cement was used to glue the leaves onto card stock. Once the leaves were dried, I taped the card stock to the mat and secured the back of frame. Voila!

The possibilities are endless.

One thought on “Savor Garden Memories with DIY Leaf Art

Leave a comment